Catalina Island News

Catalina Film Festival Wraps 7th Annual Fest With Awards in 14 Categories From 113 Films in Competition

Catalina Film Festival

The 7th annual Catalina Film Festival (CFF) wrapped with awards issued in 14 film competition categories selected from 113 films screened at venues throughout the famed Catalina Island. The annual film festival also featured career tributes, as well as the annual Film & New Media Summit.


  • Breaking the Glass Ceiling Award: 91-year-old veteran producer, Marcia Nasatir (The Big Chill, Rocky, Carrie, Apocalypse Now)
  • Maverick Award: Actor and Activist, Matt McGorry (How to Get Away with Murder)
  • Crest Award—Directing: Jordan Vogt-Roberts (Kong: Skull Island, Metal Gear, Destiny 2)
  • Crest Award—Acting: Wyatt Oleff (IT, Guardians of the Galaxy)


  • U.S. Feature — Winner: ROCKAWAY / Excellence: Tater Tot & Patton
  • Documentary — Winner: Black and Blue / Excellence: A Classy Broad
  • Wes Craven Horror — Winner: Matthew 19:14 / Excellence: The Madame in Black
  • Screenplay — Winner: Time Zero / Excellence: The Joyrider
  • Animation — Winner: Alike / Excellence: Catching the L Train
  • U.S. Short — Winner: Chocolate / Excellence: The Visit
  • Conservation — Winner: Manmade Waters / Excellence: Gaviota: The End of Southern California
  • Advanced Student — Winner: Icarus / Excellence: The Transfer
  • High School Student — Winner: Puget Sound / Excellence: Color My Dreams
  • International Short — Winner: Pushing Night Away / Excellence: Girl in White
  • International Feature — Winner: Secret from the Past / Excellence: Generation Wolf
  • Festival TreasureMy Loyal Audience
  • Deb Bauer Unsung HeroSEARCHDOG
  • Golden Fox Award for Excellence in Directing — Brian Crano, Permission

About Catalina Film Festival
Catalina Film Festival is an annual celebration of film on the West Coast's only resort island, just 26 miles from Los Angeles. Sponsors include Panasonic, IEX Helicopters, Catalina Express, Island Spa Catalina, ALS Limo and Car Service, Catalina Flyer, BIG, Horseshoe Bend Vineyards and The Cafaro Group. Past CFF honorees include Nicolas Cage, William H. Macy, Andy Garcia, Sharon Stone, Jon Favreau, Emmy Rossum, Mena Suvari, F. Gary Gray, Stan Lee and more.